My Prayers are with you Aurora Colorado

We are a family that stays away from TV.  We have a TV but if it gets turned on, it’s usually to watch a movie on DVD or an old VHS movie.  

Yesterday when we were shopping at WholeFoods the gentleman in the meat area asked my husband if he had heard of the news about a shooting in Colorado.  My husband turned to me as I looked through the things in our cart.  I only half heard what he was asking and shrugged my shoulders and head as if to say no. 

The kids were carrying on asking: “Mommy can I have this, look mommy, look over here” so I really did not understand what he was asking me at first… 

“Shooting” I said to him, “no I did not know of anything like that.”  The gentleman in the meat area then went on to explain to us what happened. 

How tragic I thought to myself, my heart sank for moment.  But it was not until this morning as I was driving into work, amidst rain and slow traffic that it hit me.  I felt a deep pain in my heart and started to cry.  I kept thinking of the mother of the young man who is responsible for shooting and killing 12 people and injuring over 50 in Aurora Colorado. I thought about the dear parents who lost children and all of the people who lost someone or who are caring for someone who was injured the day of the shooting.  I thought about my own children, their sweet innocence and how I would feel if at this moment they were no longer here.  I cried even more. 

It’s a hard thing to grasp and understand.  So many questions remain unanswered about why this young man did what he did.  There are no words of consolation I can offer for those that have lost someone they love.  However, I can pray and will continue to pray for Gods healing balm to cover the broken hearted.  Brothers and sisters in Aurora Colorado, I don’t know who you are but know that you have a sister in Florida that is praying for you. 

I know how it feels to loose a loved one tragically and without warning.  It’s a crippling sensation in your gut that can leave you broken and angry. 

My prayer is that Gods peace which surpasses all human understanding would be with you and guard you.  My deepest condolences go out to those who have suffered through this tragic event.  I will continue to pray for you in the days to come. 

And for the rest of us who stand by and watch as this story unfolds, let us not forget for a moment that our life on this earth is like a vapor.  One moment its here and another moment it’s gone.  We know not the day when our clock will tick its last bit and we will be summoned home. 

News like this reminds me to stop majoring on the minors and truly live each day as God has planned for me, not wasting any time in selfish arguments and unimportant tasks.

Life in our physical bodies is God’s gift to us if we accept His redeeming love and salvation.  It’s life for our soul and a promise of his eternal love for us.  Let us not waist time on the foolishness of the world that surrounds us, let us instead seek to know God truly, understand His will for our life and commit to following Him so that through his Spirit and by His grace we can impact a hurting world that is desperate to know of His love.

The words from 2 survivors of this shooting sums this post up beautifully.

With a heavy heart for those who are now suffering,

Mariana

Leave a Reply

